Ad

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

BBReview: "A Court of Thorns and Roses" by Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult - Fantasy/Retelling
Publishing Date: May 5th, 2015
Page Count: 416
Source: Borrowed from Library
Format: Hardcover

Description from Goodreads.com:
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!
Review:
I guess I should begin saying that I have always heard Sarah J. Maas is an amazing writer, and I knew I needed to read one of her books already, but just couldn't find the time with all the other books I had on my TBR list. When I heard about A Court of Thorn and Roses and it being a fae re-telling of Beauty and the Beast I knew I had to read it. Then I saw it on the "New Release" shelf at the library and was in cover love! I borrowed it, extended the return deadline and finally started it. It took me only 2 days to read it (thanks to work and having to sleep at some point), but OMG it was AMAZING! I couldn't ask for a better story. Sarah J. Maas has an amazing ability to blend beautiful storylines with exquisite details. I could picture everything and felt like I was watching a movie in my mind. Her writing style, plot points, and storyline was flawless!

One thing that I really loved was that it is such a unique and fun spin-off of Beauty and the Beast. Beauty and the Beast is my all time favorite fairytale and favorite Disney movie. I seriously find too many similarities between my life and Belle's. What I really loved was that this only hinted at Beauty and the Beast's storyline. Maas changed enough where they are two totally different stories, but there were small wafts of familiarity. One thing I also liked is that so many complain about how Belle suffers from Stockholm syndrome and that's why she falls in love with the beast, I don't feel this way but WHATEVER. In A Court of Thorn and Roses I didn't get that same "Stockholmy" vibe. The romance felt very real and genuine. Tamlin is very polite, courteous, gentlemanly, and generous. He gave Feyre a choice to come with him (or die - so not a very hard choice), but he also gave her freedom and didn't force into anything, besides having to live in Prythian.

I would say the ending is intense, but really the whole book is intense. I had so many feels! I guess I should say the ending is just even more intense than the rest of it. Once we get to the last 10 chapters or so everything just gets crazy. Shit is literally hitting the fan. I didn't know who to trust, what was going to happen, and who would survive (Feyre, Tamlin, Lucien, Me?). I don't want to spoil anything so I will just leave you with the questions I was yelling at the book. If you haven't read this yet (GET ON IT!) you won't be spoiled by my questions. If you have read it, you will understand my fury and pain lol... "WHAT!? WHAT DID HE SEE?" "WHATS HAPPENING!?" "What will happen once a month?" "What does this all change?" "What about Nesta!" "WHEN THE HECK IS BOOK TWO COMING OUT!?"

Overall:
I absolutely loved this book! This is my first Sarah J. Maas story, but certainly not my last. I will absolutely be counting down the days until book two and will also get started on reading her other series! I really couldn't have asked for a better re-telling. I normally do not like fae related books unless they are Adult Fantasy/Paranormal books, but I absolutely loved this. I don't want to read book two, I NEED to read book two. It's a problem. Maas is a beautiful weaver of storytelling and detail. I felt like I was in the book with Feyre or at least watching the movie in my mind. This will definitely be one of my favorite reads of the year. I definitely think it will be the best book that came out this year for me.

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 5/5


**The books cover, description, and info was all found on Goodreads. A link back has been provided. All other work and ideas are of my own creation. This book was borrowed from my local library.**

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for checking out Book Bite Reviews! Make sure to check the sidebar for more ways to follow!